Another Paypal Fraud Alert

It seems the spammers have a new trick; using fear to try to get us to open attachments.

I received an email several times over the last couple weeks that appears to be from Paypal, but is not. The email contains the following:

This email confirms that you have sent an eBay payment of $147.85 USD to earl.stallman@gmail.com for an eBay item.

If you receive such an email, do not open the attachment or click on any links contained in the email. Paypal never sends emails with attachments. If you are concerned about the security of your Paypal account, type Paypal’s url directly into your browser to access their site. Never clcik on a link to what appears to be Paypal’s site.

Share on Facebook
Post to Google Buzz
Share on FriendFeed
Bookmark this on Delicious
Bookmark this on Digg
Share on reddit
Share on StumbleUpon

No related posts.

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.